Beginning January 1, 2014, Illinois drivers may not operate a motor vehicle on a roadway while using a hand-held cell phone. Drivers may, however, continue to use their cell phones in hands-free or voice-activated mode, which may include a headset.
The penalty for disobeying this law is a maximum of $75.00 for the first offense, $100.00 for a second offense, $125.00 for a third offense, and $150.00 for a fourth or subsequent offense.
A first offense for driving while using a cell phone will not be considered a moving violation. However, subsequent offenses will be considered a moving violation and recorded on the driver’s driving record if found guilty.
There are several exceptions to the cell phone ban, including, a driver using the device:
- while parked on the shoulder of the roadway,
- when the vehicle is stopped due to normal traffic being obstructed and the driver has the vehicle transmission in neutral or park, or
- to report an emergency situation.
In addition to the ban on hand-held devices, Illinois prohibits texting while driving. Illinois’ anti-texting law states that “A person may not operate a motor vehicle on a roadway while using an electronic communication device to compose, send, or read an electronic message.” “An electronic communication device” refers to a wireless telephone, personal digital assistant, or a portable or mobile computer that is used to compose, read, or send an electronic message. It does not include a GPS or navigation system or a device that is physically or electronically integrated into the motor vehicle. “An electronic message” refers to electronic mail, a text message, an instant message, or a command or request to access an Internet site.
For further details, please contact The Law Offices of Azita M. Mojarad, P.C.