skip to Main Content
Police Traffice Stop 1500

In Illinois, Speeding 26 Miles or More Over the Legal Limit Could Put You in Jail

If you are charged with speeding 26 miles per hour or more over the legal limit in the State of Illinois, you will need legal representation. Speeding 26 to 34 miles per hour over the legal limit is a Class B Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or up to a $1,500 fine. Speeding 35 miles per hour or more over the legal limit is a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 365 days in jail and or up to a $2,500 fine.

Many traffic violations may be kept from impacting your driving record through court supervision.  Basically, if you agree to pay all fines, court costs and fees assessed against you, and avoid other traffic violations or criminal charges during a set period of time, the ticket will then not appear on your driving record as a conviction.  Unlike other violations, if you are charged with speeding 26 miles or over the legal limit, a Court cannot place you on court supervision. This means that in addition to serious criminal consequences of punishment by jail, your driver’s license may also be at risk.

An experienced traffic court attorney can find weaknesses in the allegations against you and use them to dismiss the charge against you.  Alternatively, he/she may be able to negotiate with the State’s Attorney to reach an agreement on a speed that is below 26 miles per hour and avoid the serious consequences of a misdemeanor speeding ticket conviction.

If you are charged with a misdemeanor speeding violation, contact the Law Offices of Azita M. Mojarad, P.C. and we will put our years of experience to work for you.

 

Back To Top