skip to Main Content
Speeding In A School Zone

Speeding in a School Zone

Drivers traveling through a school zone are held to a higher standard for the safety of the children in the area. School zone offenses are taken more seriously than most moving violations and, therefore, require an appearance in court.

What is the law?
Illinois law (625 ILCS 5/11-605), prohibits motorists from driving faster than 20 mph while passing a school zone on a school day when children are present. A school day is from 7 a.m. until 4 p.m.

The law requires that appropriate signs are posted where the school zone is located, which warn the driver that a school speed zone is being approached and the maximum speed limit in effect during school days when children are present.

What are the penalties for speeding in a school zone?
There are enhanced penalties for speeding in a school zone, compared to regular speeding offenses. A first violation of this law is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $150.00 plus mandatory fees and court costs. A second or subsequent violation is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $300 plus mandatory fees and court costs.

Can I receive court supervision for speeding in a school zone?
Illinois law prohibits a sentence of court supervision for speeding in a school zone. As a result, if you plead guilty or if you are found guilty after trial, a conviction will be entered on your public driving record.

An experienced attorney may attempt to amend the offense to a regular petty speeding ticket would allow for a sentence of court supervision and prevent the offense from appearing on your record if your supervision is completed successfully.

What is aggravated speeding in a school zone and what are the penalties?
Speeding over 26 miles per hour, but less than 35 miles per hour, in a school zone is an offense of ‘aggravated special speed limit while passing schools’, which is a Class B misdemeanor. A Class B Misdemeanor is punishable by up to 6-months in jail and/or a fine of $1,500.00, plus mandatory fees and court costs.

Speeding 35 miles per hour or more in a school zone is an offense of ‘aggravated special speed limit while passing schools’, which is a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year in jail and/or a fine of $2,500.00 plus mandatory fees and court costs.

Like the offense of ‘speeding in a school zone’, drivers are prohibited from receiving court supervision on all aggravated speeding in a school zone offenses.

Contact our speeding ticket attorneys
Due to the high fines and prohibition on court supervision associated with this offense, it is often beneficial to seek the representation of a traffic attorney. If you are charged with speeding in a school zone or have questions regarding school zone offenses, contact our attorneys at the Law Offices of Azita M. Mojarad, P.C. Our experienced attorneys can advise you on what actions to take to avoid a conviction.

Back To Top